Society of Surgical Simulation Annual Conference

SURGICAL EDUCATION & SIMULATION
Innovations in Simulation-Based Education

Simulation after COVID

08-09/01/2022

Welcome

bijen-patel.png
Surgical_simulation_Logo.png

 

 

Welcome

 

On behalf of the Society for Surgical Simulation (SSS), Barts Cancer Institute (BCI) of Queen Mary University of London and program committee, I would like to welcome you to the second virtual annual conference SES2021 – Surgical Education an Simulation: Innovations in Simulation-Based Education. 

 

Our 1st conference is a testament that online learning in surgical education is here to stay. Our SES2020 conference last year attracted over 225 attendees, along with 12 renowned panellists and keynote speakers from 5 different continents connected online for shared learning for over 5hrs.

 

Given the success of the inaugural event in 2020, we have expanded the 2021 meeting to a full day scientific program and half day of “Digital Surgery” Master Class. This will permit us to fully explore synergies between trainees, scientists, industries, surgeons and educators to advance simulation-based surgical education. SES2021 program agenda includes the following,

 

  1. Digital Surgical Masterclass - Audience Interactive session for building cognitive confidence before entering the operating room.

  2. Keynote Presentations

  3. Expert Panel Discussions

  4. Scientific Papers - Oral and Poster Presentations.

  5. Surgical Sim Olympics - Live Laparoscopic Suturing Competition

  

I would like to thank you for your contribution and attending this unique event. We look forward to continuing the productive dialogue, enhancing knowledge, building relationships, and spark innovations aimed at fostering meaningful collaboration.

 

 

Prof. Bijendra Patel MS FRCS FRCS Hon.PhD, FAIS,

Professor of Surgery – Queen Mary University of London.

Consultant Upper GI & Laparoscopic Surgeon – Bart’s Health NHS Trust

Editor-in-Chief Journal of Surgical Simulation

Director of Surgical Skills and Science – Queen Mary University of London

Director of MSc Surgical Skills - University of Malta

Email: b.patel@qmul.ac.uk
www.SES2021

Society of Surgical Simulation www.sssim.org

 

The Speakers

bijen-patel.png

Prof. Bijendra Patel

UK

Screenshot 2021-07-17 at 19.13.58.png

Prof. Shafi Ahmed

UK

Mr Ahmed Ahmed

UK

Prof. Prokar Dasgupta

UK

Miss Elizabeth Ball

Mr Shekhar Biyani

UK

UK

Prof Mauro Ferrari

Italy

Prof Paul Barach

USA

Screenshot 2021-07-17 at 19.15.10.png

Prof. April Roslani

Malaysia

Screenshot 2021-07-17 at 19.14.24.png

Prof Godfrey Muguti

Zimbabwe

Screenshot 2021-07-17 at 19.14.07.png

Prof. Pawanindra Lal

India

Screenshot 2021-07-17 at 19.14.46.png

Prof. Dhananjaya Sharma

India

Agenda

Program Objective

 

SES2021scientific program committee has planned a premiere program to include keynote speakers & industry partners who will illustrate new developments and innovations in surgical education and simulation.

 

Our expert panel session will outline lessons learned from surgical education and simulation during COVID-19 Pandemic and the Impact and future value of simulation in surgical training. The committee has selected a number of research abstracts for virtual podium presentations and abstracts as scientific posters from the high-quality abstracts received. 

 

Pre conference half day of “Digital Surgery” Master Class as an interactive Breakout Session on your mobile phone using “Touch Surgery” app for building cognitive confidence and learning tips and tricks of various operations will enable practicing surgeons and trainees across various specialities to interact with “master surgeons.

 

Finally we will be hosting an on-line “Sim Olympic Competition – Laparoscopic Suturing” awarding prizes to the best 3 trainees in both the junior and senior category.

Saturday 8th of January - Digital Surgery Masterclass

 

Session 1:  

London, UK @ 13:00 - 15:00

Washington DC, US @ 08:00 - 10:00

New Delhi, India @ 17:30 - 19:30

Tokyo, Japan @ 21:00 - 23:00

Canberra, Australia @ 23:00 - 01:00

 

The interactive breakout session using mobile phone “Digital Surgery App”

Learn from international experts “Tips and Tricks” & Troubleshooting

 

  1. Urology – Robotic Prostatectomy

    • Moderator Prof Prokar Das Gupta

    • Panel 

  2. Gynaecology – Robotic/Laparoscopic Hysterectomy

    • Moderator Ms Elizabeth Ball  

    • Panel 

  3. Upper GI Surgery – Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy 

    • Moderator Prof B Patel

    • Panel

 

Session 2:  

London, UK @ 15:00 - 17:00

Washington DC, US @ 10:00 - 12:00

New Delhi, India @ 19:30 - 21:30

Tokyo, Japan @ 23:00 - 01:00

Canberra, Australia @ 01:00 - 03:00

 

  1. Bariatric Surgery – Laparoscopic Gastric Bypass 

    • Moderator Ahmed Ahmed 

    • Panel 

  2. Colorectal – Laparoscopic Hemicolectomy

    • Moderator Shafi Ahmed

    • Panel  Tan Arulampalam, Antonio Spinelli, Salomone Di Saverio, April Roslani

 

Sunday 9th January - Main Conference

London, UK @ 09:00 - 17:00

Washington DC, US @ 04:00 - 12:00

New Delhi, India @ 13:30 - 21:30

Tokyo, Japan @ 17:00 - 01:00

Canberra, Australia @ 19:00 - 03:00

 

  1. Keynote Presentations

  2. Expert Panel Discussions

  3. Scientific Papers - Oral and Poster Presentations 

  4. Sim Olympic Competition - Live Laparoscopic Suturing Competition 


 

Keynote Presentations & Expert Panel Discussions

This session offers current trends and expert opinions on a following topics

 

  1. Panel/Topic 1

    • Simulation Training in COVID

  2. Panel/Topic 2

    • Surgeons and Engineers

  3. Panel/Topic 3

    • Technology Enhanced Education - Use of Technology to address current challenges in surgical education (Implementing Technology in Practice)

  4. Panel/Topic 4 

    • Trainees session - Future Leaders in Simulation-Based Surgical Education

  5. Panel/Topic 5 

    • Team and Non-technical simulation (Changing Culture)

 

Sim Olympic Competition - Live Laparoscopic Suturing Competition

Opportunity for both junior and senior trainees to take part in this live laparoscopic suturing competition and win prizes. Five shortlisted participants in each group will perform live and will be judged by an expert panel.

Image by Glenn Carstens-Peters

For Instructions on Oral, Video Presentation and ePoster Abstract Submission click below

 

Surgical Sim Olympics: Virtual Laparoscopic Suturing Competition

Date: 9th January

Location: Virtual (Online)

09/01/2022 World Times for Laparoscopic Simulation Competition

London, UK @ 12:00 - 13:00

Washington DC, US @ 07:00 - 08:00

New Delhi, India @ 16:30 - 17:30

Tokyo, Japan  @ 20:00 - 21:00

Canberra, Australia @ 22:00 - 23:00

*Junior and Senior Competitions will run parallel to each other. 

Eligibility

The competition is open to all Medical Students, Foundation Doctors, Core Surgical Trainees, Registrars, Consultants and Physician associates. 

Organised by Society for Surgical Simulation & Barts Cancer Institute London, online “Laparoscopic Suturing Competition”

Target Participants:

  1. Junior (Age under 30) Medical Students, Any junior surgical trainees, Physician Associates.

  2. Senior (Age over 30) Senior surgical trainee (Junior Registrars and Senior Registrars)

Registration

All participants/attendees should register in advance. Registration is free

Instructions for taking part:

  1. Submit a short biography in no more than 150 words covering your laparoscopic training and surgical experience

  2. Submit your average time of 3 attempts of single interrupted knot as described below

  3. Instrument: Laparoscopic Box trainer, Two needle drivers (or one needle driver and one grasper) and a braided suture 3-0 with curved needle (approx. 15 to 20cm length)

  4. Contact us to arrange a laparoscopic trainer and instruments for the competition. Email us on Surgicalsim1@gmail.com

  5. How to make your own Laparoscopic box trainer https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AB7zVugIbf0

  6. To view video demonstration of Laparoscopic Suturing technique
    https://youtu.be/jig-hmvsrI0

Instruction for Laparoscopic suturing technique 

Aim:  To tie a single knot with three single-throws laparoscopically.

Objective:  Achieve the fastest time of taking

Skill: Laparoscopic Interrupted Suturing as follows

Acceptable knot type: Szabo knot as described below

Szabo knot tied using two hand technique (“C” and “D” loops).

Sliding Knot Two Hand Technique (3 Single Knots) 

  • 1st Knot = “C” Loop

  • 2nd Knot = “D”/ or “Reverse C” Loop

  • 3rd Knot = “C” Loop

Clock Start: Suture Needle introduced in the laparoscopy trainer box

Clock Stops: Cut suture removed from laparoscopic trainer box

Errors:

  • Any of the following errors will automatically lead to disqualification

  • Loose knot

  • Wrong technique (Judges will use Lap Suturing OSATS Check List - “Objective Structured Assessment of Technical Skills”)

Image by Piron Guillaume
 
 
  • YouTube
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon